GOVERNMENT OF NAGALAND SCHOOL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

NOTIFICATION

Dated Kohima the 70ct' 2019

No.EDS/MISC/16-1/07 (Pt) : In the interest of Public Service, the Governor of Nagaland is pleased to notify the Guidelines regulating the Chief Minister's Meritorious Students Fellowship Program (CMMSF) for the best 50 top individual performers in the Class X Board Examination i.e. HSLC Examination conducted by the Nagaland Board of School Education (NBSE).

- 1. The fellowship would be granted to the top scoring 50 individual students in the top rank in order of merit of the HSLC Examination conducted by the NBSE, selected on the basis of their rank/marks in the HSLC Examination in order of merit.
- 2. The selected 50 students must belong to an Indigenous Scheduled Tribe of Nagaland as notified by the Government from time to time.
- 3. In case of more than one person in one rank/place while preparing the list of eligible 50 students for the fellowship, flexibility would be allowed to include all the persons in that rank or with equal marks. In such a case/year, the number of persons to be awarded the CMMSF will vary.
- 4. Fellowship to be granted to the meritorious students shall be made on annual/yearly basis.
- 5. A citation along with cash award shall be given in the first year of grant of the fellowship.
- 6. The grant of CMMSF shall be awarded for 5 years. However, to achieve the desired objective of the CMMSF, the annual academic performance of the 50 awarded students shall be continuously monitored. To continue to avail the fellowship, the students should continue to score not less than 80% marks in the promotion/annual/semester examination in the succeeding classes/grades every year. Non fulfillment of the criteria will lead to the discontinuation of the grant of CMMSF.
- 7. A committee under the chairmanship of Chairman, Nagaland Board of School Education shall be constituted to identify/furnish names of 50 eligible meritorious students every year after the declaration of HSLC Examination results.

The committee shall also monitor the academic performance of the selected students and furnish the report to the Government every year the progress of the recipients in their respective courses.

- 8. The member of the Committee shall consist of:
 - a. Chairman, NBSE Chairperson
 - b. Director, Higher Education Member
 - c. Director, Technical Education Member
 - d. Representative from the School Education Department not below the rank of Under Secretary - Member
 - e. Director, School Education Member Secretary
- 9. This is in partial modification to this Department's Notification of even Number dated 12th September, 2019.
- 10. This has the approval of the Cabinet vide OM letter NO.CAB-2/2013(pt) dated 1st July 2019.

Sd/- MENUKHOL JOHN

Principal Secretary to the Govt. of Nagaland.

No.EDS/MISC/16-1/07 (Pt) / //OS

Dated Kohima the 19 Oct. 2019

Copy to:-

3

- 1. The Commissioner & Secretary to Governor, Raj Bhavan, Nagaland, for kind information to the Hon'ble Governor, Nagaland.
- 2. The Addl. Chief Secretary to Chief Minister, Nagaland, for kind information.
- 3. The PS to the Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister, Nagaland for kind information.
- 4. The PPS to Hon'ble Speaker/Dy. Speaker, Nagaland, Kohima for information.
- 5. The PPS/PS/PA to Ministers/Advisors/Chairman's for information.
- 6. The P.A to Advisor, School Education for kind information of the Advisor, School Education, Nagaland, Kohima.
- 7. The PPS to Chief Secretary, Nagaland.
- 8. The PS to Addl. Chief Secretary and Development Commissioner, Nagaland, Kohima.
- 9. All the AHODs and HODs for information.
- 10. The Mission Director, Samagra Shiksha, Nagaland, Kohima.
- 11-The Chairman, NBSE, Nagaland, Kohima.
- 12. All the Deputy Commissioner's for kind information.
- 13. All the DEOs/SDEOs for kind information.
- 14. Office copy/Guard file.

(P. JAMES SWU) Under Secretary to the Government of Nagaland.